No Smoke No Poke

Milltek KPM Racing Golf TDI takes the win at Dunlop 12H in Mugello

19th March 2014 | BY Adam

Milltek Sport’s Golf TDI took the win this weekend at Mugello, in the Dunlop 12H Italy race. Dominating from the lights going out all the way to the chequered flag, the diesel race car finished an impressive 12 laps ahead of it’s rivals in the D1 category. Running with KPM Racing, the Golf collected its second successive piece of D1 class silverware in only its second outing into the international 2014 ’24H Series’.

Hit the jump for the race report and pictures…

For the second round of the championship at Mugello, Milltek once again called upon drivers Tom Onslow-Cole, Paul White and Javier Morcillo, plus the firm’s recent ‘Win a Drive’ competition winner James Walker, to pilot its #8 purpose built Volkswagen Golf Mk 6 TDI in the D1 (diesel touring cars up to 2000cc) class.

The ‘24H Dubai’ class runners-up made an impressive start to the Italian event during Friday’s free practice. Tom Onslow-Cole set the fastest class lap, 0.5 second ahead of the #52 BMW and went on to set a formidable class pole time in qualifying, a 2’09.520, putting the rookie enduro squad in prime position for the start of the two-part race.

Tom started the race at 14:00 on Friday with Javier taking over to run in P2 until the chequered flag at 17:00. Parc Fermé rules were then in force and the cars left in formation and under covers on the track over night.

‘Step two’ of the race began at 08:15 on Saturday with James Walker behind the wheel of the #8 challenger. He immediately settled in to his first endurance challenge and was soon pulling away from the team’s trailing rivals. Paul, and then Tom, maintained the team’s commanding class lead and pulled away even further by an incredible 10 laps margin at the halfway stage.

James got back in to the Milltek Sport backed Golf for his second stint on the 15-turn, 5.245 km (3.259 mi) circuit and jumped out at the 10 hours mark to allow Paul to bring #8 to the chequered flag and secure the winning D1 class trophy and P12 overall at the end of the 12 hours race.

The next round takes place at Zandvoort Circuit in Holland on the 30-31st May, in the form of another twelve hour race. Keep an eye out on the NSNP Facebook and Twitter pages for updates from the event.

For more information regarding 24H Series please visit

Related Features: